Misplaced Thoughts & Misplaced Notebooks

I need to empty life of half-filled notebooks.

Like most writers I know, I love a fresh notebook. It’s so full of promise; it’s clean and fresh. I start out strong, experimenting with which pens I like best, how close to the margins I ought to write, and all that little nonsense.

Eventually I start to notice the things I don’t like, though. The pages stick funny (my current notebook) or the pages tear easily or it’s hard to keep organized. I see another notebook that I want more, and talk myself into moving the project. It’ll be easier to work on from there, after all.

The problem comes when it’s time to work on a project that I’ve been brainstorming for a while. I’m getting ready to tackle my Camp NaNoWriMo project for a second time this summer, and I decided that I need to consolidate my thoughts. As usual, I gravitated back to Yarny for it this time. Scene separation in word processors is the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

It’s exhausting, trying to remember the exact decisions I’ve already made for the story. Where is Peyton from again? Why on earth did Gregorio sell the rights to his genes? Why did I think this novel was a good idea once upon a time?

What it boils down to is that I need to commit to a notebook, and quit hopping from place to place if I’m going to keep my thoughts organized. Organization is my most common failing.

2 thoughts on “Misplaced Thoughts & Misplaced Notebooks

    1. That is exciting! I did camp a few years ago with some success, but my motivation flagged for writing for crazy real life reasons for a while there. I’m hoping that it’ll go well this month.

      Good luck! :D

Leave a Reply

